News, reviews and videos of my favourite games – I salute you!

I just want to start this blog by saying that I am not a massive player of fighting games. The only ones I have ever owned include:

  • Street Fighter 2 (Mega Drive & Wii)jfghfc
  • Street Fighter 4 (PS3)
  • Soul Caliber 2 (Gamecube)

Now everyone knows that Street Fighter 2 is and always will be the best fighting game ever made and I am not disputing that at all. However one fighting game I think that was in the shadow of the more popular franchises like Street Fighter and Tekken was Soul Caliber 2 and this game was probably the fighting game I have spent the most time on in my entire life. Released on the PS2, Gamecube and Xbox I didn’t realise what a good game it was until I was about 1 week into playing it. And truth be told the only reason I bought it was due to my passion for Legend of Zelda and Link who was the bonus character for the Gamecube version.

With all this in mind, I must’ve spent the best part of two years playing Soul Caliber with my friend, or on my own completing the arcade mode and Weapon Master campaign. With a multitude of unlockable weapons, costumes and other characters it had some serious replay value. But when I mean its underrated, I mean I don’t think people appreciated the gameplay and the combination of moves that could be done on this game. I mean I started playing only as Link because its Link and I wanted to unlock the Razor Sword from Majora’s Mask, the Biggoran sword from Ocarina and the mirror shield. Then I moved onto other characters as Link’s skill set proved tricky to master, I mean wanna fight, not throw bombs and boomerangs around! Moving onto my next two favourite characters who I feel had the best combination of moves to prove my point Kilik and Talim. Talim used dual elbow blades and to awesome effect when fighting, which I would take over a hadouken anyday. Kilik used a staff (The Kali-Yuga) and boy did I have some fun hitting people with that rod… WHEYYY. But seriously I challenge anyone to play this game and give it a chance if your a fighting game fan. Although I don’t what the subsequent sequels were like I would suggest if you can, buy a HD remaster on Xbox One or PS4 and give it a go if its there. I’ve just began buying back old Gamecube games to get my old collection together again and I am having some serious fun with it. Check out the my arcade mode runthrough with Link here:

Link’s Story

Leave a Reply

